In Which They Ask: Is He Worth It??

How do you decide the price of living pain free or at least reasonably comfortable? What is the determining factor that makes it “okay” to say enough is enough, and to let go of the battle? When do you stop doing the surgeries to make life more comfortable? When do you stop giving the medications? When do you simply allow nature to take it’s course?

Does the fact that it’s a dog and not a human being make his life worth any less than yours or mine? Does the fact he can’t tell you he’s hurting make it less important to make sure he has round the clock meds? Does the fact he’s only going to be around an estimated seven to ten years anyway make him less important, and not worth fighting for?

I’ve been asked time and time again since Tank’s 3rd surgery if “he’s really worth it”. I’ve been asked when I’m going to “stop wasting money on a dog who’s only going to be here another 5-7 years anyway”. I’ve been told that his pain tolerance is higher than yours or mine and he can “handle the pain”.

Lemme tell you this my friends, my readers, my visitors. I don’t care if he’s “just a dog” to you. To me, he is my child. He is my best friend. He is my protector, my confidant, my secret keeper, my friend. What to you is “just a dog” to me is “everything”.

I don’t care if he’s only going to be here “another 5-7 years”. He deserves to live to the best of his ability and as pain free as possible. He deserves to have the best QUALITY of life possible. You say that he can “handle the pain”. Bullshit. That’s bullshit. How about the next day he’s puking with his whole body shivering, limping so badly he can hardly walk, and his skin is ripling if you so much as touch him because he’s hurting so bad… You take that pain, and you just “deal with it”. Just “handle” that type of pain, okay? Let’s see how you handle it with no medication.

As long as there is still breath in me, my dog is worth it. As long as his good days still out number his bad days, it’s worth it. As long as his tail still wags when he hears his name, it’s worth it. He is worth it. My dog is worth it. My dog is not “just a dog”… Don’t you see? He is so much more.

My dog is my life… because he has literally saved my life. If it wasn’t for this “just a dog”, I wouldn’t be here today. However, that’s a story for another day.

Why no Momma… I don’t have enough toys or bones or kongs. I need more please!

This entry was posted in General Chatter. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Woof (aka Comment)!

